Hanging Out With Bugs on Break

So I was eating my lunch outside when this strange spiky bug started investigating my food. He was blue, black, orange, and sharp. I don’t think I would have ever guessed what he would grow up to be without the internet. Any guesses? See the image caption to find out.

Update: After further research I found that this is actually an invasive Asian ladybug species introduced into Europe and the United States to control aphid populations. It has, however, out-competed native ladybug species.

Harlequin ladybug larva (Harmonia axyridis) Photo by Nutmeg66

Image Source: Nutmeg66, FlickerRiver, 2007

Leave a Reply

