My Birthday Present: A Rhino Named Maxwell

I used to laugh at the absurd lyrics of the old time Gayla Peevey tune “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”. Well, for my birthday, I got a rhinoceros. It was a gift from my fellow Urban Hermit, Lauren. His name is Maxwell. He is a blind orphan who was rescued by the David Sheldrick Wildlife Fund, a wonderful nonprofit that rescues orphaned and endangered animals in Kenya’s wilderness. I am now one of his adoptive parents and will receive updates on his progress. Here is an enjoyable post. They have a particular focus on the African Elephant, which has unfortunately become increasing threatened recently. Take some time to explore the site and their mission and if you are interested, considering fostering one of these wonderful creatures!

My boy, Maxwell!

Image Source: Cat Y., tripadvisor.ca, Oct 2012

One thought on “My Birthday Present: A Rhino Named Maxwell

Leave a Reply

